Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange for Young Professionals in Germany

The Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange for Young Professionalsgermany (CBYX) is a year-long fellowship to study and intern in Germany.  CBYX is open to applicants in all career fields, though preference is given to students in STEM fields, agriculture, business, and vocational fields.  Community college students and others traditionally underrepresented in study abroad opportunities are especially encouraged to apply.

The fellowship is funded by the U.S. and German governments through a grant provided by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, under the authority of the Fulbright-Hays Act of 1961, as amended. More information can be found at

The CBYX program annually provides up to 75 participants with:
– 2 months intensive German language training
– 1 semester of study at a German university or university of applied sciences
– 5-month internship with a German company in the participant’s career field
– Transatlantic airfare, health insurance, and monthly living expense stipends

Prior German language knowledge is not required, though it is preferred. Applicants should have clear career goals and some relevant work experience in their career field, which may include summer, part-time, or internship work.

Participants must be between the ages of 18-24, possess a high school diploma or equivalent, and be U.S. citizens or permanent residents.

Interested applicants can apply online at  The application deadline for the 2015-2016 program is December 1, 2014.

NOVA-AL Hosts Art Exhibit for Visiting Turkish faculty member

Visiting Delegations_2014 002
Assoc. Prof. Çiğdem DEMİR Chair of Department of Visual Comm. Design Gazi University, Faculty of Fine Arts


The Alexandria Tyler Art Gallery held an opening reception and artist talk on  Monday, September 29th for a visiting scholar to NOVA from Turkey.  Dr. Cigdem Demir is studying at NOVA for the Fall semester with a group of 15 Turkish faculty from Gazi University in Ankara, Turkey. The Turkish faculty represent a variety of academic disciplines but are here primarily to improve their academic English skills and to learn more about the US higher education system which includes networking and interacting with colleagues in their fields of study. Dr. Demir, an artist and graphic designer, was given the opportunity to display some of her work at NOVA and will also be leading a master class for advanced art students on the Alexandria campus in October.

Gazi University faculty studying at NOVA-AL for Fall 2014.
Gazi University faculty studying at NOVA-AL for Fall 2014.


NOVA Hosts Dutch Delegation through VACIE

Visiting Delegations_2014 006
Top Row: Karen Bushaw-Newton, Agnes Malicka, Breana Bayraktar Bottom Row: Linda de Mol-Wissink, Coriene Snel, Fieke Visser Missing NOVA VACIE awardee: Shannon Nieves


On Wednesday, October 22nd, NOVA’s Office of Global Studies and Programs and CETL hosted a reception at the Ernst Cultural Center to welcome the visiting delegation of VACIE awardees from the Netherlands along with their NOVA faculty partners. The event was well attended by NOVA faculty and staff who also had the opportunity to learn about Dutch culture and the Dutch higher education system. This year four NOVA faculty and staff were awarded VACIEs out of a total of 11 awards granted by the VCCS.

Below is the list of the NOVA-VACIE awardees;

Karen Bushaw-Newton, Biology-AN

Breana Bayraktar, ESL- WO

Agnes Malicka, ESL-AL

Shannon Nieves, Pathways program, CS

The VACIE International Exchange program is an international faculty exchange program between Virginia community colleges and foreign institutions of higher education involving several countries. This year institutions from the Netherlands participated in the program. The program’s purpose is to foster the exchange of information regarding best practices in higher education, to sharpen the global perspectives of the participants, and to promote lasting international friendships and partnerships. NOVA awardees hosted their visiting faculty members in their homes for two weeks during October with a reciprocal two –week visit to take place in their partner’s home country in the spring.  If you are interested in applying for next year’s program will be announced via email in March 2015.