Division of Student Services Hosted First-Year Experience Student Convocation

Students received commemorative pins at the end of the Convocation ceremony. Dr. Barbara Saperstone shook hands and welcomed students to NOVA. Photo by Kevin Mattingly

The First-Year Experience (FYE) students received a special treat on Friday, September 23. The Division of Student Services hosted Convocation in the Richard Ernst Cultural Center Theatre to welcome the new students to NOVA’s Annandale Campus. President Robert G. Templin, Jr., Provost Barbara Saperstone, Dr. Athos Brewer, Dr. Christine Holt and Dr. Ellen Fancher-Ruiz all shared valuable information with the students throughout the program.

The program was specifically targeted for all first-year students as a welcome to the Campus. The program marked the beginning of their collegiate journey as they were ushered into NOVA’s community of scholars. The speakers provided the students with pertinent information that will assist them in becoming successful and active NOVA students. Each participant received a commemorative pin as a token of their commitment to higher education.

The students were not the only ones to make a commitment. NOVA representatives also made a commitment to provide the students with the best opportunity for higher education available.

After the ceremony, the participants enjoyed a lovely reception in the forum where light refreshments were served and everyone listened to the music of the NOVA Jazz Ensemble.

The event was a great success due in large part to the staff that worked hard behind the scenes – Dr. Joann Credle and Jessie Zahorian. The event was a great way to start off the students’ academic year. Congratulations to all who participated.