Spring 2013 Faculty Workshop Series

TAC logoNOVA’s Office of Institutional Research, Planning, and Assessment (OIR) is offering a series of four faculty workshops in spring 2013 on designing and assessing course objectives and student learning outcomes (SLOs). Each workshop is 90 minutes and will provide information, examples, and hands-on practice useful for enhancing student learning and teaching effectiveness.

The schedule of faculty workshops is as follows:

Friday, 1/18/2013 – Writing and Mapping Course Objectives
10 a.m.-11:30 a.m.
Alexandria
Bisdorf 479

Friday, 1/25/2013 – Aligning Assessments With Course Objectives
11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Loudoun
LC 216

Friday, 2/01/2013 – Using Rubrics to Measure Student Performance
11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Woodbridge
WS 233D

Thursday, 2/14/2013 –  Collecting and Analyzing Evidence of Student Learning at the Course and Program Level
10 a.m.-11:30 a.m.
Annandale
CG 202C

Friday, 2/22/2013 –  Writing and Mapping Course Objectives
11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Manassas
MH 317

Friday, 3/01/2013 –  Aligning Assessments With Course Objectives
10 a.m.-11:30 a.m.
Woodbridge
WS 233D

Friday, 3/22/2013 –  Using Rubrics to Measure Student Performance
11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Alexandria
Bisdorf 479

Friday, 4/05/2013 –  Collecting and Analyzing Evidence of Student Learning at the Course and Program Level
10 a.m.-11:30 a.m.
Loudoun
LC 216

Thursday, 4/11/2013 – Writing and Mapping Course Objectives
10 a.m.-11:30 a.m.
Annandale
CG 202C

Friday, 4/26/2013 – Aligning Assessments With Course Objectives
10 a.m.-11:30 p.m.
Manassas
MH 317

To learn more about the workshops, see the flyer in this edition of Intercom or contact Student Learning Outcomes Specialist Sharon Karkehabadi at 703-764-7390/ skarkehabadi@nvcc.edu or Director of Academic Assessment Jennifer Roberts at 703-323-3086 / jeroberts@nvcc.edu.

To register go to http://www.nvcc.edu/faculty-and-staff/marketing/oir/training/.

Technology Applications Center Training Opportunities 

The Technology Applications Center (TAC) has a variety of technology training offerings available for faculty and staff. Faculty and staff can register to take advantage of the following training opportunities:

  • Blackboard Competency and Blackboard Certification
  • Blackboard Collaborate
  • Hybrid Certification – for new faculty who need to be certified to teach a hybrid course
  • Hybrid Overview – for former and current hybrid faculty
  • NOVAConnect Basics
  • Panopto

TAC Mentors

Are you a faculty member and need assistance with Blackboard or have other technology related questions? TAC Mentors are located at each campus to assist with your instructional technology needs.

AL        Scott Buswell             AA252            sbuswell@nvcc.edu        703-845-6534

AN       Amy Gilley                  CM352            agilley@nvcc.edu          703-323-3272

LO        Robert Dusek            LR 221             rdusek@nvcc.edu           703-450-2539

MA      Alicia Tucker             MC 234            atucker@nvcc.edu           703-257-6696

MEC     Donna Freeman       HE 239I         dfreeman@nvcc.edu       703-822-2093

WO      Julie Quinn               WC 402E         jquinn@nvcc.edu              703-878-5670

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *