Staff and Faculty Honored With ACCT Award Nominations

Dr. Jerry Barrett“In its almost 50 years of existence, Northern Virginia Community College has been blessed with a wealth of talent at all levels,” said Dr. Jerome Barrett, new chair of the NOVA College Board. “This year we decided to seek awards for four such talented individuals, as well as the institution itself.”

The awards will be given by the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) at its 2013 Leadership Congress in Seattle in October. ACCT represents more than 6,500 members of governing boards at more than 1,200 community colleges in the United States.

NOVA President Robert G. Templin, Jr. is nominated for the Chief Executive Officer Award.sTemplin “The motivation to nominate Dr. Templin was driven by the College Board’s respect for our President’s visionary and entrepreneurial leadership,” the nomination states. One of the accomplishments cited is the Pathway to the Baccalaureate program, an idea he advanced to increase college access for at-risk students in Northern Virginia.

“If we are going to be competitive globally, we need a greater percentage of people going to college,” Templin said in announcing the program. “It just so happens the majority of the people coming down the pipeline do not have a college-going tradition.”

Founded in 2005 by NOVA, George Mason University and area public school districts, the Pathway program now serves more than 7,500 low-income, minority and immigrant Dr. Mark Stavishstudents in 42 high schools.

Dr. Mark Stavish, Loudoun County representative to the NOVA College Board, was nominated for the Trustee Leadership Award. His leadership includes chairing the Board’s Community Engagement Committee. “Through his leadership, NOVA has created a comprehensive plan of community engagement which is designed to educate and maintain public support for our college and its role in our community,” his nomination says.

Dr. Laura FranklinNominated for the Faculty Award is Dr. Laura Franklin, professor of French at the Alexandria Campus. She has taught all levels of French courses at NOVA since 1982, including face-to-face, hybrid and online lessons. A winner of the 2003 Virginia Outstanding Faculty Award and several national awards, Franklin is recognized nationally as a pioneer in the field of teaching world languages using technology.

Corrine Hurst, executive office manager in the Office of the President, was nominated for the Professional Board Staff Member Award. She has supported the NOVA College Board since 1999. “Cooperation, competence and the willingness to perform are the ‘hallmarks’ of Ms. Hurst’s approach to her work with our Board,” the nomination states. “It is rare to meet a more dedicated, knowledgeable, or service-oriented individual.”

Finally, the NOVA College Board and Chief Executive Officer were nominated for the Equity Award for leadership in setting policies, championing an environment of inclusivity, and ensuring results for the enhancement and expansion of opportunities for minorities and women. The nomination cites the strategic plan approved by the Board in 2004, “NOVA 2015: Gateway to the American Dream,” that seeks to enhance equity, access and student success, particularly for minority, immigrant and first generation college-going students.

The goals stated in the NOVA 2015 plan are that “between 2004-2015, NOVA will extend higher education and training opportunities to more than 500,000 residents, significantly increase the college-going rate of historically under-represented populations, place more than 25,000 persons into new high-wage employment, and help double the annual earnings for 5,000 low-income families.”

All of the ACCT awards are given by region. There are five regions within the organization: Central, Northeast, Pacific, Southern and Western. NOVA is in the Southern Region. Once regional awardees are named, ACCT then chooses a national awardee from among them.

NOVA won its first ACCT award last year when former NOVA College Board Chair David H. Miller received the 2012 Trustee Leadership Award for the Southern Region. “My last official act before my term expired on June 30 was to sign the letter forwarding these 2013 nominations and all four of the people nominated this year from NOVA are richly deserving of the awards,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *