Honors Awards Presented at NOVA-Manassas

Honors Awards Presented at NOVA-Manassas

Honors Awards Presented at NOVA-Manassas
The Manassas Campus recently honored the recipients of the Honors Program ExxonMobil Awards. From left: Christine Alford, Dawn Boyd, ExxonMobil representative Judy Hubka, Diego Placido,  John Ruffino and Rebecca Hayes.

The Manassas Campus recently acknowledge recipients of the Honors Program ExxonMobil Awards, given to outstanding students in NOVA’s challenging Honors Program.

In front of a large audience of family members, students, faculty and staff, Manassas Honors Chair, Rebecca Hayes, presented awards to Christine Alford, Dawn Boyd and Diego Placido. Each student received a $250 ExxonMobil Scholarship.

Honors students are eligible to apply for the scholarships which are awarded based on several criteria, including an essay about how the Honors Program or Honors classes have had an impact on the students’ personal, academic and professional development. Professor recommendations, campus and community activities and grades are also factored into the evaluation.

The awards ceremony featured entertaining videos created by the students to showcase their winning essays. One student said in her video, NOVA “will make you have fun while you are learning.” Another cited the Honors enrichment activities and personal attention from faculty for strengthening his determination to complete his goals.

Special thanks to NVCC Educational Foundation Executive Director, John Ruffino, and ExxonMobil representative, Judy Hubka, for attending the ceremony and presenting the awards.

Hayes would like to thank the Manassas Honors Committee, Honors faculty and staff for all of their support and assistance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *