First Honors Pinning Ceremony

First Honors Pinning Ceremony

First Honors Pinning Ceremony
Front row left to right: Shonette Grant, Dr. Joyce Brotton and Dr. Sheri Robertson Back row left to right: Dr. Charlie Errico, LeeAnn Thomas, Dr. Paul Fitzgerald, Dr. Rebecca Hayes and Stacy Rice.

On February 6, the NOVA Honors Program hosted the first Pinning Ceremony at the Ernst Center on the Annandale Campus. Virginia Tech (VT) University Honors Associate Director Christina McIntyre served as the keynote speaker and talked about the importance of community as students reflected on their progress through the Honors Core Curriculum. She also discussed the Honors transfer agreement offered to graduating Honors Program students who wish to attend University Honors at VT.

Professor Stacy Rice (LO), NOVA’s college-wide honors coordinator said, “It was great to see so many Honors Program students from all of the campuses together in one place. It really shows how the Honors experience extends beyond the classroom and how much Honors has grown at NOVA. We are so proud of these students and all that Honors provides them.”

Joining Rice at the event were campus chairs, Dr. Paul Fitzgerald (AN), Shonette Grant (AL), Dr. Rebecca Hayes (MA) and LeeAnn Thomas (WO), and Associate Vice President of Academic Services Sheri Robertson (CS). Special thanks to former Honors chairs, Dr. Charlie Errico (WO) and Dr. Joyce Brotton (AN) for attending, as well as Annandale Provost, Barbara Saperstone, Woodbridge Provost, Sam Hill and many faculty.

The Honors Program chairs are looking forward to the 2015 induction/pinning ceremony. For more information on NOVA’s Honors Program, please visit the Honors Program website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *