Successful Fall Convocation Kicks Off the New Semester

Successful Fall Convocation Kicks Off the New Semester

Successful Fall Convocation Kicks Off the New SemesterFall Convocation, held at the Richard J. Ernst Community and Cultural Center on August 18, was a huge success with a great turnout. The theme of the day was “Building Structures for Student Success.” The morning began with an insightful student panel organized by Interim Dean of Communications Technologies and Social Sciences Molly Lynch (MA) and moderated by Dean of Learning and Technology Resources Frances Villagran-Glover (AL). The nine student panel, titled “From Dreams to Goals to Success,” focused on how NOVA is helping them achieve their goals and dreams.

Several faculty and staff were honored for their achievements at the College, including Dr. David Conroy and Reva Savkar, the 2014 and 2013 recipients of the Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence.

The NVCC Educational Foundation presented Outstanding Service to the College Awards to teaching faculty Dr. Susannah Givens, Shelley Jaye and Margaret Leary; administrative faculty Marjorie Kinnaman; adjunct faculty Myles Eldreth;and classified staff Sharon Finch and Susan Liller.

The 2013-2014 President’s Sabbatical Award recipients were also honored and each shared their area of study. Presentations included “Cuban Protestants and the United States” by Dr. Jim Baer, “Exploring Best Practices in the Student-Centered ESL Classroom” by Dr. Janet Giannotti and “The Fight Against Malaria in Ghana” by Dr. Charles Pumpuni.

The keynote speaker was Dr. Jeanette Norden, professor emerita at Vanderbilt University. She discussed “Creating a Safe, Natural Critical Learning Environment” and used examples from her experiences teaching neuroscience to medical students as a way to challenge NOVA faculty as they start the fall 2014 semester.

President Robert G. Templin, Jr. gave his annual presidential address, including an update on the College’s strategic initiative, “NOVA 2015: Gateway to the American Dream.”

To watch the presentations, click on the video links below:

Convocation 2014 – Part 1
Features the student panel and the Faculty and Staff Outstanding Service to the College awards.

Convocation 2014 – Part 2
Features the keynote speaker address by Norden, the Sabbatical Award recipients and Templin’s annual address.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *