Honors Program Holds 2nd ExxonMobil Honors Symposium

Honors Program Holds Second ExxonMobil Honors Symposium

Honors Program Holds 2nd ExxonMobil Honors Symposium
Professor Michael Amey (Alexandria Honors chair), Chris Chen (AN), Charlotte Hepler (AL), Jennifer Pearson (AN), Helena Avedissian (AN), Elizabeth Tikoyan (AN), Kevin Baisden (AL), Sabine Klinkhammer Daly (AL), Philip Saphos (AL) and Dr. Paul Fitzgerald (Annandale Honors chair).

The NOVA Honors Program held its second ExxonMobil Honors Symposium November 14 to give Honors Program students the opportunity to present original research to Honors faculty and their peers.

Students gave 10- to 15-minute presentations using PowerPoint or Prezi to discuss their research findings. Six Honors students were awarded a $250 cash prize for their efforts thanks to the generosity of ExxonMobil, which provides funding for the Honors Program, thanks to the efforts of John Ruffino and the NVCC Educational Foundation. Twenty-three student proposals were submitted, representing five campuses; 19 students made presentations.

Honors Program Holds 2nd ExxonMobil Honors Symposium
Natasha Mirza (AN), Sarah Saeed (LO), Leonardo O’Gilvie (MA), Urby Ahmed (MA), and Professor Steve Clarke (Loudoun Honors chair).

Special thanks to the Alexandria and Loudoun campuses which hosted the conferences, all NOVA Honors campus chairs, and the numerous Honors faculty and staff who volunteered their time to help judge the presentations.

The winners from the Loudoun Symposium were Natasha Mirza (AN), Sarah Saeed (LO), and Leonardo O’Gilvie and Urby Ahmed (MA group presentation). The winners from the Alexandria Symposium were Sabine Klinkhammer Daly (AL), Helena Avedissian (AN) and Chris Chen (AN).

The NOVA Honors Program is very proud of all the student participants and would like to congratulate the winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *