Third Annual NOVA Mathematics Competition

Third Annual NOVA Mathematics Competition

Third Annual NOVA Mathematics Competition Ninety-two NOVA students from all campuses demonstrated a great love for mathematics by competing in the Annandale Campus Third Annual NOVA Mathematics Competition on April 3. Thanks to the generous contributions of time and talent of many volunteers, and the tremendous student turnout, the competition was a great success.

Forty-six teams comprised of two students each participated in the competition. Prizes for each member of the top three teams included two Apple iPad Minis for first place, two $50 gift cards for second place, and two $25 gift cards for third place. Both internal and external sponsors donated textbooks, gift bags and funding for the top prizes.

Third Annual NOVA Mathematics Competition
Deanna Meyer, Scott Weekley, Wangming Yuan, Fei Jin, Huitong Pan, Cheng Jin and Assistant Professor Kumnit Nong.

The competitors solved a number of challenging problems in topics including geometry, counting, probability, logic and analysis of functions. They demonstrated mathematical knowledge and ability, a great love for STEM education, and overall excellent teamwork. Among the highlights of the competition were Interim Provost Charlotte Calobrisi’s warm introduction, the cooperation and teamwork of the many volunteers, and the friendly competition among the students.

Congratulations to Fei Jin and Wangming Yuan who earned first place, Cheng Jin and Huitong Panwho for winning second place, and Scott Weekley and Deanna Meyer for taking third place.

For a complete list and photos, go to

Special thanks to the following sponsors of the competition: NOVA Student Life for providing the two iPad Minis (Jessica Gardner, Student Life coordinator of student engagement), BernardCare Company (Cyrus and Deborah Nasseri) for providing gift cards worth $150 , textbooks publisher Pearson (Tami Dreyfus), NOVA Student Activities Services, NOVA Community Outreach (Bob Hull), and Annandale Provost Office (Claudia Chirinos). Thanks to faculty and staff: Kumnit Nong, David Haile, Jeff Vetrano, Victoria Lu, Sumitava Chatterjee, Samnang Po, Terry Krize, Claire Coffey, Jennifer Heffman, and Kespisey Kong. In addition, thanks to volunteers Pov Kouy and Sitha Khim.

Thanks to the NOVA mathematics faculty for helping to inspire mathematical interest in our students and nurturing the students’ ability to think creatively and solve challenging problems.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *