NOVA Staff Appointed to NACADA Leadership Committee

NOVA Staff Appointed to NACADA Leadership Committee

NOVA Staff Appointed to NACADA Leadership Committee Cynthia Pascal, retention strategies coordinator with NOVA’s Extended Learning Institute, has been elected as chair of the National Academic Advising Association’s (NACADA) Awards Committee. NACADA promotes and supports quality academic advising in institutions of higher education to enhance the educational development of students.

Pascal’s position on the committee will bring national attention to NOVA’s best practices in academic and faculty advising. She will assume this leadership position during the NACADA Annual Conference being held in Las Vegas, Nevada, this October and will serve in this position until October 2017.

The NACADA Awards Committee is charged with overseeing the annual awards program which recognizes outstanding advising programs, advisers, faculty advisers, administrators and advising technology innovations, as well as individuals who have made significant contributions to the association, the advising profession or their institutions. As chair, Pascal will be contributing not only to the association but also to the profession of advising and higher education by highlighting excellence in the field.

NACADA was chartered as a nonprofit organization in 1979 to promote quality academic advising and professional development of its membership to ensure the educational development of students. Since its beginning, NACADA has grown to over 11,000 members consisting of faculty members, professional advisers, administrators, counselors and others in academic and student affairs concerned with the intellectual, personal and vocational needs of students. In addition, NACADA is the representative and advocate of academic advising and those providing that service to higher education.

5 thoughts on “NOVA Staff Appointed to NACADA Leadership Committee

Leave a Reply to Kirstin Riddick Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *