NOVA Represented at VCCS 2015 Leadership Academy

NOVA Represented at VCCS 2015 Leadership Academy

NOVA Represented at VCCS 2015 Leadership Academy
Anitza SanMiguel, Steve Ward, Sarah Bogdewiecz, Willie Pomeroy, Takesha McMiller and Molly Lynch.

Six individuals were nominated from NOVA to attend the four-day 2015 Faculty and Administrators Leadership Academy held by the Virginia Community College System’s (VCCS) Office of Professional Development. There were 40 attendees representing the 23 VCCS colleges.

Presenters included presidents Edna Baehre-Kolovani (Tidewater), John Capps (Central Virginia), Gene Couch (Virginia Highlands), Elizabeth Crowther (Rappahannock), J. Mark Estepp (Southwest Virginia), Jack Lewis (New River), John J. Rainone (Dabney S. Lancaster), Gary L. Rhodes (Reynolds), David Anthony Sam (Germanna) and Linda Thomas-Glover (Eastern Shore). Some additional keynote speakers on hand were VCCS Human Resources Director Jerry Armstrong, Lord Fairfax Academic and Student Affairs Vice President Chris Coutts, VCCS Institutional Advancement Vice Chancellor Jennifer Sager Gentry, VCCS Workforce Development Vice Chancellor Craig Herndon, Academic Services and Research Vice Chancellor Sharon Morrissey and VCCS Faculty Development Director Abigail Stonerock.

Topics included communication, collaboration, advocacy, organizational strategy and institutional finance, research, fundraising and resource management. The participants worked together to strategize conflict resolution approaches, build relationship and community action plans and discuss critical thinking and “Millennial Generation” characteristics. After completing the Behavioral Index, participants were asked to practice strategies based on their behavioral style. This proved an insightful take-away activity that will enable the participants to enhance their roles at NOVA.

Those who attended would like to thank the NOVA community and nominating parties for the opportunity to participate in this valuable leadership academy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *