NOVA Places at the 8th Annual SMMART Tournament

NOVA Places at the 8th Annual SMMART Tournament

NOVA Places at the 8th Annual SMMART Tournament NOVA won second and third place at the eight annual Student Mathematics Mid-Atlantic Regional Tournament (SMMART) held by Hagerstown Community College in Hagerstown, Maryland. NOVA brought two teams led by Professor Kumnit Nong (Annandale) and two teams led by Professor Matthew Westerhoff (Manassas), and Professor Shakil Shrestha (Manassas) to compete at Hagerstown Community College on April 16.

There were more than 10 community colleges in the D.C. metropolitan area with 28 teams of three students. This tournament is exclusive to two-year colleges. Besides NOVA, community colleges like Carroll Community College, Cecil Community College, Community College of Baltimore County, Frederick Community College, Hagerstown Community College, Harford Community College, Montgomery College (all campuses), Prince George’s Community College and more took part in this competition.

NOVA’s Annandale Campus team comprised of Luca Scerbo, Jason Everritt and Harrison Crosse won second place, and NOVA’s Manassas Campus team including Carly Springer, Christina Lin and Phuong Tran won the third place in the competition.

Special thanks to NOVA math faculty who helped students to succeed in this tournament. Faculty leads would also like to thank NOVA Annandale and Manassas provosts, Annandale MSE division, Dr. Abbas Eftekhari and Dr. Diane Mucci for their support.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *