NOVA Board Approves 2017 Professor Emeriti

The NOVA Board, through the Academic Curriculum and Workforce Development committees, approve the following 10 individuals to be awarded the 2017 distinction of professor emeritus.

Robert Loser, ELI

Deborah Mottsman Rosen, CS

Dr. Walerian Majewski, AN

Alice Hedley, AL

Maryam Zamani, LO

Cathy Simpson, CS

Mary Hanrahan, AL

Dr. Charles Scarborough, AN

Gillie Campbell, AL

Dr. Rodwell Catoe, AN

Each year, prospective awardees are nominated by their academic deans or relevant administrator and their nomination is submitted to the campus provost or vice president who forwards them to an ad hoc committee appointed by President Scott Ralls. To be eligible, faculty must be retired from service to the College and recognized for meritorious and significant contributions to the College and/or the Virginia Community College System as reflected by exemplary performance in teaching or other area of responsibility; maintained currency in and contribution to the teaching field or other area of responsibility; maintained currency in their area of responsibility and demonstrated successful use of a variety of teaching methods; exemplary leadership on behalf of the College through campus, college and system activities; outstanding community service as an extension of college employment.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *