Manassas Hosts NOVA Honors Symposium

Manassas Presents NOVA Honors Symposium

Manassas Hosts NOVA Honors Symposium
NOVA Honors Symposium participants (back row) Dr. Rebecca Hayes (Manassas Honors Chair), Dr. Sheri Robertson (AVP of Academic Services), Professor Stacy Rice (College-Wide Honors Coordinator) and Dr. Mark Kidd (Manassas Dean of Students).

On October 21, the Manassas Campus was proud to host the NOVA Honors Symposium. Seventeen Honors Program students presented their original research in front of a panel of judges. Five awards were given to the outstanding presentations that demonstrated both originalities in research and outstanding public speaking skills.

The student award winners will receive a cash award at the spring Honors Awards Ceremony, including Minah Hussain and Manjot Singh, Jiwoo Han, Amarpreet Kaur, Dong Kim, and Monika Woldegiorgis. All of the presenters are now eligible to be nominated to attend the Virginia Collegiate Honors Council Conference and Southern Regional Honors Council Conference in April 2018.

The Honors Program would like to thank John Ruffino and the Northern Virginia Community College Educational Foundation for sponsoring the event and all of the faculty and staff volunteers who served as judges: Alisa Berry, Saleha Bholat, Mary Ebersole, Chris Eninger, Mark Kidd, Shabana Meyering, Sheri Robertson, Maureen Santelli, Alias Smith, Lauren Vick, Libby Vick and Matthew Westerhoff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *