President’s Sabbatical Award

The Personnel Services Committee (PSC) invites full-time faculty to apply for the President’s Sabbatical Award. The award is designed to foster creative energy by providing faculty with a one-semester sabbatical leave with full pay. Each academic year, a maximum of three faculty members, one of whom can be on a 12-month contract, can receive the award.

Award proposals should be no more than 1,000 words and specify how the sabbatical leave will uniquely benefit both the individual and the College. The proposal and NOVA Form 105-100 should be sent electronically to Annandale Pathway Counselor Kristy Balbuena, the chair of the Personnel Services Committee by December 1.

Members of the Personnel Services Committee (who are not eligible for the award) will evaluate the proposals and recommend up to three names to President Scott Ralls, who selects the award winners. Award recipients will present a lecture on their sabbatical experience to the College community during the year following their leave.

NOVA Form 105-100 is available in the Forms Library. Applicants must be eligible for sabbatical leave and have completed six years of service in the Virginia Community College System to qualify for the President’s Sabbatical Award. Previous winners must have six years of service completed since their last award.

For more information, previous winners and current winners’ proposals, please check the PSC website.

One thought on “President’s Sabbatical Award

  1. here are few other Mid-Career/Senior Scientist Career Awards and Fellowship Funding

    American Academy in Rome – Rome Prize
    American Federation for Aging Research Julie Martin Mid-Career Award in Aging Research
    The American Academy in Berlin – The Berlin Prize Fellowship
    Camille & Henry Dreyfus Foundation Senior Scientist Mentor Program
    Chemical Heritage Foundation Beckman Center for the History of Chemistry Fellowships
    DOD Office of Naval Research Summer Faculty Research Program and Sabbatical Leave Program
    DOE Argonne National Laboratory Faculty Research Leave – Sabbatical Leave
    DOE National Renewable Energy Laboratory Sabbaticals and Faculty Appointments
    DOE PNNL-Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory Wiley Visiting Scientist Program

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *