Campus Clubs and Organizations

From the Office of Student Life 

Like the MEC Student LIfe Facebook page to stay up to date.

Every student at the Medical Education Campus has the potential and opportunity to become a student leader. There are many benefits to becoming involved in student leadership. In addition to learning more about yourself, your strengths and interests, you gain valuable skills. The friendships you develop, working together as a team on projects and goals, often remain long after graduation. The satisfaction of working as a team toward a common goal and knowing that you have made a positive contribution to your community is huge.

Clubs, Organizations and Interest Groups

Dental Hygiene Club (DNH)
Advisor: Dawn Southerly, dpsoutherly@nvcc.edu

Diagnostic Imaging Club (RAD)
Advisor: Jarice Risper, jrisper@nvcc.edu

Emergency Medical Services Club (EMS)
Advisor: Kathleen Deal, kdeal@nvcc.edu

Health Information Management Leaders of Tomorrow (HIMLOT)
Advisor: Toni Jackman, tjackman@nvcc.edu

Medical Laboratory Technology (MeLT) Club
Advisor: Stefanie Thompson, mthompson@nvcc.edu

Nurses Student Association (NSA)
Advisor: Kenya Fluellen kfluellen@nvcc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa, Beta Nu Psi Chapter (PTK)
Advisor: Maria Nieto-Shahsavarian, mnietoshahs@nvcc.edu
Co-advisor: Patricia Martin-Mattocks, pmartinmattocks@nvcc.edu

Physical Therapist Assistant Society (PTA)
Advisor: Patty Ottavio. pottavio@nvcc.edu

Respiratory Care Practitioners Student Association (RTH)
Advisor: Terry Clark, tclark@nvcc.edu

Student Occupational Therapy Association (OTA)
Advisor: Megan Cook, megancook@nvcc.edu

What Is the Difference Between a Club or Organization and an Interest Group?

There is a distinct difference between clubs and interest groups. The College officially recognizes clubs; Interest Groups are groups formed on a temporary basis and are not officially recognized by the College. Further clarification can be found below for the differences between clubs versus interest groups:

Clubs Can …

  • generate funds through fundraisers and donations
  • have an account through the Office of Student Activities
  • use the College name to show its affiliation with the College
  • request funding from the Office of Student Activities and the College for programs and club activities
  • reserve College facilities and utilize College resources for a variety of programming opportunities
  • be featured in various publications of the College (Student Handbook, Newspaper, etc.)

Interest Groups Cannot…

  • generate funds through fundraisers and donations
  • have a club account through the Office of Student Activities
  • use the College Name to show its affiliation with the College
  • request funding from the Office of Student Activities and the College for programs and clubs activities
  • be featured in publications of the College, BUT they can reserve College facilities for meetings only

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.