About Us

TNVR_flyer2015The submissions period for the 2016 edition is July 15 to October 16, 2015. For detailed guidelines, see the Submissions link. All published work is eligible for prizes for best work in a genre.




The Northern Virginia Review presents outstanding original short stories, poetry, essays, fine art and photography from the Mid-Atlantic region and the faculty, staff, and alumni of Northern Virginia Community College. It is published in a handsome print edition each March.

Now in its 30th year, the Review was originally founded to showcase the talents of Northern Virginia Community College’s faculty. In 2006, we expanded submissions to include outside contributors. We now also publish the best work of noted and emerging regional writers and artists.TNVR_cover_2015

Our best-in-genre contest offers cash prizes, awarded each spring at a reception to launch the new edition and honor its contributors. For the reception, we bring in guest speakers who are at the top of their field. Recent nationally known speakers have included, H. R. Hummer, Sydney Blumenthal, and Claudia Emerson.


Editorial Board

  • Terry Alford
  • Nicholas E. Bomba
  • Jen Daniels
  • Steven Drasner, Managing Editor
  • J. Indigo Eriksen, Blog Editor
  • Nicole Foreman, Associate Editor
  • Jonathan Harvey
  • Julia Turner, Art Editor
  • Meena Nayak
  • Ruth Stewart, Editor-in-Chief
  • LeeAnn Thomas


The Northern Virginia Review is funded by the generous support of Northern Virginia Community College and the Educational Foundation, without which the publication would not be possible. We rely as well on the support of individuals and corporate sponsors to produce a quality journal. You can make a tax-deductible contribution at any of the following levels:

  1. Friend of TNVR for $25
  2. Donor for $50
  3. Sponsor for $100
  4. Patron for $500 or more

Please make your check payable to NVCC Educational Foundation, indicate that it goes to The Northern Virginia Review, and mail to:

  • John Ruffino, Executive Director, Educational Foundation, 7630 Little River Turnpike, Suite 817, Annandale, VA 22003

All contributors will be recognized in the forthcoming issue and receive a complementary copy of the journal.

Questions? contact Steve Drasner, Managing Editor (703.323.3334), Ruth Stewart, Editor-in-Chief (703-402-1135), or John Ruffino, Educational Foundation (703.323.3023).