Personnel

DIRECTOR:

Dr. Charles Evans, cevans@nvcc.edu
Dr. Evans, www.ctevans.net, is assistant dean and professor of history at the Loudoun campus of Northern Virginia Community College. He was one of the creators of the preservation certificate program at the campus in the mid-1990s. In addition to his administrative and teaching duties at the college, he researches the history of the Lehigh Valley in Eastern Pennsylvania.

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR and INSTRUCTOR

Dr. Marc Dluger, mdluger@nvcc.edu
Dr. Dluger is a Ph.D. recipient of Loyola University Chicago with a dual-degree in American History and Public History. In addition to teaching United States history, he has worked as a public history consultant, conducting legal research, creating digital family history projects, and establishing in-house digital rights management and archival database collection management.  Dr. Dluger has also assisted at the Chicago History Museum, worked on the Chicago Daily News glass plate negatives collection, and participated in various oral history projects.  He also volunteers at the City of Alexandria’s Archives & Record Center, focusing on locating, identifying, and organizing their various photographic records, as well as handling specific research requests exploring the history of region.

OCCASIONAL INSTRUCTORS:

Amy Bertsch, abertsch@nvcc.edu
Amy is a graduate of the NVCC certificate program and holds an M.A. in history from Sam Houston State University.  She is our expert on Northern Virginia history and has experiences in African American history and historical archaeology..

Dr. David Clark, daclark@nvcc.edu
David is a professional archaeologist, public archaeology outreach specialist, and educator with extensive national and international experience.He is executive director and principle investigator of the Loudoun Archaeological Foundation, and he maintains archaeological research and community outreach partnerships in Loudoun County with Claude Moore Historic District Park, Oatlands Plantation and Morven Park

Richard Gillespie, rgillespie@nvcc.edu
Richard is the retired executive director for Northern Virginia’s Mosby Heritage Area. A 30-year veteran US History teacher at Loudoun Valley High School in Purcellville, VA., he retired to pursue a second career in museum education in 2004.

Tracy Gillespie, tgillespie@nvcc.edu
Tracy has served as President of the Virginia Association of Museums. She is past president of the Loudoun County Historical Society, past chairman of the Loudoun Civil War Sesquicentennial Committee, and chair of the Loudoun Heritage Consortium. Before joining the staff of Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority in 2010, Tracy was Director of Historical Operations at Morven Park in Leesburg for ten years, Executive Director of the Loudoun Museum for six years, and Director of Education for that museum for the ten years previous.

Michael Henry, mhenry@nvcc.edu
Mike has worked at the Colvin Run Mill Historic Site in Great Falls since 1988, the past fifteen years as the site administrator. He is a past vice president of the Virginia Association of Museums Council and served on the Council from 2002 to 2010. Since 2006, he has served on the Small Museum Associations Board of Directors. He also serves as a Museum Assessment Program (MAP) Surveyor for the American Alliance of Museums, a position he has held since 1993.

Dr. John Sprinkle, jsprinkle@nvcc.edu
Dr. Sprinkle is a historian and archaeologist who has worked for a decade in the private sector on a wide range of historic preservation projects for a number of federal agencies. Joining the National Park Service late in 1998, for six years he oversaw the National Historic Landmarks program; securing the designation of more than 120 National Historic Landmarks, including Stonewall, Graceland, and the Fresno Sanitary Landfill. Over the last six years he has collaborated with the Federal Preservation Officer Forum to improve the implementation of agency historic preservation programs nationwide. In September 2012 he was designated as the National Park Service’s Bureau Historian.